Leadership Team

"Leadership is an action, not a position."
Donald McGannon

Board of Directors

Marc Carpenter

Retired Director of Human Resources, Heritage Home Group. Board member since 1992.

David Lackey

Attorney, private practice. Board member since 2014.

Marion Hall

CPA and business advisory. Board member since 2015.

Janet Winkler

Retired banker, Bank of Granite. CHPC Board member since 2010.

Robert Belk, MD
Medical Director emeritus
Caldwell Hospice and Palliative Care, Inc. Board member since 1983.

Peg Broyhill
Retired Investment Broker, Wachovia Securities. Board member since 1984.

Laura Easton
President and CEO, Caldwell Memorial Hospital. Board member since 2010.

David Gray
Professional engineer, general contractor. Board member since 1990.

Rob Hinman
Senior pastor, Lenoir Presbyterian Church, Lenoir. Board member since 2006.

Mack Jarvis, III
Senior pastor, First Baptist Church, Hudson. Board member since 2015.

Dorothy Metzger
Retired Caldwell Hospice and Palliative Care homecare nurse. Board member since 2012.

Charles Shell
Controller, RPM Wood Finishes Group, Inc. Board member since 2012.

James Sponenberg
Retired banker, former president and CEO of Parkway Bank/Certus Bank. Board member since 2016.

Tamra Starnes
Retired banker, First Union National Bank (now Wachovia Wells Fargo). Board member since 1991.

Linda Story
Retired Granite Falls Town Manager. Board member since 2012.

Wongalee Thomas
Retired District Manager, Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation. Board member since 2015.

Chair emeritus Parker Williamson—Retired CEO, The Presbyterian Lay Committee., Inc. Board member 1982-2012.


Senior Leadership Team

Cathy Swanson, MPH
Chief Executive Officer

Kathy Tunstill, BSN
Director of Nursing Services

Anna Blanton, MSW, LCSW
Director of Support Services and Professional Development

Brittney Greene, MBM, SHRM-CP
Director of Human Resources

Laura Elmore, MBA
Director of High Country Services

Terry Johnson, BA
Director of Business Services

April Moore, BSBA
Director of Regional Services and Marketing



Julia Sherrill, MD, HMDC
Medical Director

Suzan Cabral, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner

Freda Cowan, DNP, FNP-BC
Lead Nurse Practitioner

Amber Fortenberry, MSN, FNP-BC
Nurse Practitioner

Amy Gorman, MSN, FNP-BC
Nurse Practitioner

Trel Lowe, RN, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner 

Brandi Newell, MSN, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner

Donna Tate, MSN, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner

Ginger Warren, DNP, FNP-C
Nurse Practitioner